Fourth Annual Visionaries Tribute
Lifetime Achievement Awards Announced

The fourth annual Visionaries Tribute lunch will take place at the Edison Ballroom on Nov. 9, 2017.

Lifetime Achievement Awards are given for a distinguished output of documentaries. This year’s two recipients are:

Errol Morris has been a continuous innovator in the documentary form with films such as Gates of Heaven; Vernon, Florida; The Thin Blue Line; Fast, Cheap & Out of Control; Mr. Death; the Oscar-winning The Fog of War; and Standard Operating Procedure. His film Tabloid was the Closing Night Film of DOC NYC’s first year in 2010; and The Unknown Known was the Opening Night film of the 2013 festival. His latest film is The B-Side, while his highly anticipated Netflix series, Wormwood, will debut later this year.

Sheila Nevins is President of HBO Documentary Films and has overseen documentaries for the channel for over 30 years. She has supervised the production of over 1,000 documentary programs for HBO. As an executive producer or producer, she has received 32 Primetime Emmy Awards, 34 News and Documentary Emmys, and 42 George Foster Peabody Awards. During her tenure, HBO’s documentaries have gone on to win 26 Academy Awards. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling book You Don’t Look Your Age… and Other Fairy Tales.

Past Lifetime Achievement recipients are Jon Alpert, Jonathan Demme, Chris Hegedus, Barbara Kopple, Albert Maysles, D.A. Pennebaker, Stanley Nelson, and Frederick Wiseman. The honorees are selected by the festival programming team, based on recommendations from the Visionaries Host Committee.

Two more Visionaries Tribute honorees will be announced in the fall for the Leading Light Award, given to a mid-career industry leader (previously Molly Thompson, Tom Quinn, Dan Cogan); and the Robert and Anne Drew Award for Documentary Excellence that goes to a mid-career filmmaker (previously Dawn Porter, Kim Longinotto, Laura Poitras).

The 2017 Visionaries Host Committee includes Amir Bar-Lev, Joslyn Barnes, Geof Bartz, Amy Berg, Joe Berlinger, Rachel Boynton, Nancy Buirski, Maro Chermayeff, Christine Choy, Marshall Curry, Kate Davis, Carl Deal, Nicholas Doob, Ezra Edelman, Bob Eisenhardt, Lewis Erskine, Heidi Ewing, Susan Froemke, Geeta Gandbhir, Alex Gibney, Julie Goldman, Rachel Grady, Thomas Allen Harris, Chris Hegedus, Matthew Heineman, Kristi Jacobson, Ross Kauffman, Barbara Kopple, Penny Lane, Tia Lessin, Marc Levin, Marilyn Ness, D.A. Pennebaker, Frazer Pennebaker, Laura Poitras, Bob Richman, Robert Richter, Richard Rowley, Deborah Shaffer, Morgan Spurlock, Jonathan Stack, Ricki Stern, Robert Stone, Annie Sundberg, Jean Tsien, Chai Vasarhelyi, and Pamela Yates.


Tickets for the Visionaries Tribute lunch are available for $625 per seat or $5000 per table. To buy individual tickets, click here.

For more information, contact Event Producer Jen Kim at