DOC NYC’s Documentary New Leaders Award honors individuals whose efforts and fresh thinking on distribution, sales, festivals, and marketing bring greater inclusion and equity to the field. The initiative is co-presented by A&E.

Now in its inaugural year, the initiative recognizes 16 Documentary New Leaders who reflect the breadth and depth of rising talent in the documentary field. The list of 16 recipients draws from eight U.S. cities and covers a wide range of experience, from grassroots organizing to non-profit grantmaking to international distribution and beyond. While several honorees are filmmakers, this program highlights their leadership in roles that shape industry practices and culture.

The selection process began with an open call for submissions. Nearly 100 candidates were reviewed by a six-person selection committee of that included Caitlin Boyle, DOC NYC’s Director of Industry and Education; Opal H. Bennett, DOC NYC’s Director of Filmmaker Development; IFC Center’s Operations Manager Asha Phelps; DOC NYC’s Executive Director Raphaela Neihausen; DOC NYC’s Artistic Director Thom Powers; and DOC NYC’s Director of Programming Basil Tsiokos. Over the next year, the New Leaders program will host monthly gatherings for the honorees, offering a forum for mentorship, camaraderie, collaboration, and organizing.

Honorees are listed below.

About A&E Network

A&E leads the cultural conversation through high-quality, thought provoking original programming with a unique point of view. Whether it’s the network’s distinctive brand of award-winning disruptive reality or groundbreaking documentary, A&E always makes entertainment an art.  The A&E website is located at  Follow us on Twitter at and Facebook at  For more press information and photography please visit us at